Friendship at COP28

Friendship will participate at COP28 in Dubai from November 30 to December 12, 2023 to take frontline climate victims and the voices of their communities and advocate for scaling up climate adaptation solutions.

Friendship News Desk
November 23, 2023

Friendship will participate in the UNFCCC Conference of the Parties (COP) for the third consecutive year. The 28th edition will take place in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, from November 30 to December 12, 2023.

Friendship will organise and/or take part in the following events, many of which are also accessible online:

THE CLIMATE CRISIS IS A HEALTH CRISIS: UNITING TO GALVANISE ACTION TOWARDS SOLUTIONS FOR CLIMATE ADAPTATION

The climate crisis is a health crisis
DateDecember 1, 2023
Time11:15 (Dubai time), 08:15 (CET), 13:15 (Dhaka time)
VenueHealth Pavilion, Blue zone
Zone B7, Building 89
DescriptionIn the face of the climate crisis, our collective health hangs in the balance, necessitating a unified front to catalyse climate adaptation measures. The one solution—to address animal, human, environmental health together. We cannot fix one without fixing the other two. We must do this urgently today! 
Event linkhttps://www.who.int/news-room/events/detail/2023/11/30/default-calendar/cop28-health-pavilion

THE POWER OF RESILIENT YOUTH WORLDWIDE: STORIES AND INSPIRATION FROM CLIMATE CHANGE FRONT-LINE FIGHTERS

DateDecember 2, 2023
Time11:00 (Dubai time), 08:00 (CET), 13:00 (Dhaka time)
VenueChildren & Youth Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B6, Building 90 (map)
OrganisersClimate Justice For Rosa, Friendship, Saving Tuvalu
DescriptionDive deep into the untold stories of the youth battling climate change daily. Beyond the complex science and politics, discover how this global crisis has forever altered their lives, shattered dreams, and upended communities. Understand the human cost through the young eyes of those facing its relentless impact. 
Watch onlinehttps://www.youtube.com/@ChildrenandYouthPavilion

HOW CAN THE CORPORATE SUSTAINABILITY COMMITMENTS CONTRIBUTE TO THE ACCESS TO RENEWABLE ENERGY, BIODIVERSITY PROTECTION AND CLIMATE ADAPTATION FOR HIGHER PROSPERITY, ALSO IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES?

Corporate sustainability, access to energy
DateDecember 3, 2023
Time11:30 (Dubai time), 08:30 (CET), 13:30 (Dhaka time)
VenueBenelux-EIB Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B6, Building 74 (map)
OrganiserFriendship Belgium
DescriptionOn the banks of Bangladesh’s mighty rivers, Friendship is facilitating corporate social responsibility. By providing access to renewable solar energy and meeting the climate adaptation needs of the isolated nomadic island landscapes of the Brahmaputra, the shared responsibility of donors and implementers is being nurtured.  
Watch onlinehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_aV9UpelJfo

FROM CLIMATE-INDUCED MIGRANTS TO RESILIENT COMMUNITY IN SOUTH ASIA

DateDecember 4, 2023
Time18:30 (Dubai time), 15:30 (CET), 20:30 (Dhaka time),
VenueSide Event Room 3, Blue Zone
Zone B6, Building 78 (map)
Organiser Climate Action Network South Asia (CANSA)
DescriptionThe climate crisis isn’t just changing landscapes, it’s uprooting lives. As the IPCC AR6 report underlines the grim reality of climate migration, the real question emerges: Are our L&D efforts truly reaching those at the brink? It’s not about funding; it’s about funneling these funds effectively to those who face the daily brunt of climate upheaval. 
Link to watchhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wf1l8zZA4DA


DateDecember 5, 2023
Time09:00 (Dubai time), 06:00 (CET), 11:00 (Dhaka time)
VenueClimate Mobility Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B5, Building 62
OrganisersSecours Islamique France (SIF), Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC), Friendship
DescriptionRedefining the future of communities grappling with the climate crisis. A world where healthcare education and economic empowerment converge to redefine the future of the communities. Delve into the depths of how we address the often unseen yet profound impact of loss and damage, transforming adversity into opportunity. Join us in uncovering the innovations that not only heal but fortify communities against the relentless tides of change. 

FURTHERING TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER UNDER THE PARIS AGREEMENT TO DRIVE CARBON DIOXIDE REMOVAL AND FOR EFFECTIVE ADAPTATION

DateDecember 5, 2023
Time10:15 (Dubai time), 07:15 (CET), 12:15 (Dhaka time)
VenueMiddlesex University Dubaï
OrganisersClimate Law and Governance Initiative (CLGI)
Co-organisersCentre for Climate Repair, University of Cambridge,
Law Centre, University of Huston
Watch onlinehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fumt4fQKFcU&list=PLaDXWnnPQE99o50TVBJ0phrQojDakIrFT&index=19

Financing community-based adaptation through NGOs: channelling international climate finance to local communities
DateDecember 5, 2023
Time13:30 (Dubai time), 10:30 (CET), 15:30 (Dhaka time)
VenueBenelux-EIB Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B6, Building 74 (map)
OrganisersCercle de Coopération des ONGD (Luxembourg), Care Denmark, ADA, AEIN, Friendship Luxembourg
Watch onlinehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8p8yVN-9kw

DateDecember 6, 2023
Time13:00 (Dubai time), 10:00 (CET), 15:00 (Dhaka time)
VenueChildren & Youth Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B7, Building 90 (map)
OrganisersFriendship, The 50 Percent, Youth Resilience Partnership,
Climate Justice For Rosa
DescriptionTwo girls from Bangladesh’s most climate-affected regions—remote, shifting, sedimentary river islands, speak to the world about the living reality of climate change, beyond the pie charts and bar graphs, beyond speaking points and statistics. Through their own creative expression, these girls shall describe what the forefront of climate change effects look like, through their eyes.   
Watch onlinehttps://www.youtube.com/@ChildrenandYouthPavilion

DateDecember 6, 2023
Time18:00 (Dubai time), 15:00 (CET), 20:00 (Dhaka time)
VenueAfrica Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B6, Building 70 (map)
OrganisersCare International
Watch onlinehttps://www.afdb.org/en/cop28/africa-pavilion

HIGH-LEVEL MULTI STAKEHOLDER DIALOGUE WITH 50:50 BALANCE BUILDING TRUST AND RADICAL COLLABORATION FOR PEOPLE AND THE PLANET

DateDecember 8, 2023
Time13:00 (Dubai time), 10:00 (CET), 15:00 (Dhaka time)
VenueWomen’s Pavilion, Green Zone
OrganiserSHE Changes Climate
DescriptionClimate change does not gender discriminate—it impacts us all. Witness an assembly of diverse leaders, from every corner of society, demanding equal representation in climate decision-making. Equity isn’t just a goal; it’s our strength.  

MAINSTREAMING CLIMATE CHANGE ADAPTATION: FRIENDSHIP EXPERIENCES

DateDecember 9, 2023
Time13:30 (Dubai time), 10:30 (CET), 15:30 (Dhaka time)
VenueBangladesh Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B2, Building 21 (map)
DescriptionThe world has been put in a state of flux; constant adaptation has become indispensable.  This calls for making government policies in tackling climate crises as dynamic and responsive to micro-level reality just as much as their macro-level vision. 
OrganiserFriendship

FOREST LANDSCAPE RESTORATION: CLIMATE RESILIENCE IN EASTERN HIMALAYA REGION

DateDecember 12, 2023
Time16:00 (Dubai time), 13:00 (CET), 18:00 (Dhaka time)
VenueIUCN Nature Pavilion, Blue Zone
Zone B7, Building 87 (map)
OrganisersFriendship, Conservation International, Balipara Foundation,
Centre for Climate Repair (CCR)
DescriptionForests are crucial in protecting lives and livelihoods in every landscape, while providing a critical habitat for biodiversity. Friendship, Conservation International, Balipara Foundation and Centre for Climate Repair shall share their expertise on how and why forests are paramount in our planet’s narrative, from the highlands to the coastlines. Defending communities against environmental onslaughts and nurturing biodiversity.  
Watch onlinehttps://www.iucn.org/cop28live

Spread the love

You may also like